Tuesday, July 7, 2015

Interview with M. Beth Bloom, Author of Don't Ever Change (with Giveaway!)

Title: Don't Ever Change
Author: M. Beth Bloom
Publisher: HarperCollins
Release Date: July 7, 2015

Eva has always wanted to write a modern classic--one that actually appeals to her generation. The only problem is that she has realized she can't "write what she knows" because she hasn't yet begun to live. So before heading off to college, Eva is determined to get a life worth writing about.

Soon Eva's life encounters a few unexpected plot twists. She becomes a counselor at a nearby summer camp--a job she is completely unqualified for. She starts growing apart from her best friends before they've even left for school. And most surprising of all, she begins to fall for the last guy she would have ever imagined. But no matter the roadblocks, or writer's blocks, it is all up to Eva to figure out how she wants this chapter in her story to end.

Perfect for fans of E. Lockhart, David Levithan, and Rainbow Rowell, Don't Ever Change is a witty, snarky, and thought-provoking coming-of-age young adult novel about a teen who sets out to write better fiction and, ultimately, discovers the truth about herself. 
Hi M. Beth, thanks for taking the time to answer a few questions with us today! 
First off, tell us 4 interesting things about yourself.
I only have hand tattoos.  
I was a raw foodist for five years.
I played in a band that opened up for Sonic Youth and Vampire Weekend.
I still remember my Bat Mitzvah Torah portion.  

What inspired you to write Don’t Ever Change?
My own teenage life. I remember being a super pretentious, obnoxious young writer, obsessed with being epic and memorable. I spent a summer as a camp counselor and was totally humbled/horrified. I started to take myself far less seriously, incorporating humor and wit into my work, remembering to “write what I know,” be personal, soulful, and open. I understand most YA protagonists are fighting to save the world, or battling serious demons, matters of life and death… Not Eva. She’s just an arrogant, funny weirdo, who I hope comes across as appropriately irritating and charming.

What can you tell us about your book in 140 characters or less?
The only thing certain in life is change. 

What are your thoughts on the cover? Did you have any input in the design?
I love the cover; I’m so fortunate that my amazing editor at HarperTeen (Tara Weikum) was open to my ideas. I knew I wanted something hand-drawn and quirky, a little twee, a little self-deprecating, something of a wink to the reader. Eva is a total pie chart herself, constantly categorizing and weighing the importance of randomness vs. realness.

Have you always been interested in becoming a writer?
Always. Since I knew what a job was.

Do you have any advice for young writers?
Eva’s whole journey is the journey of a writer. She learns to write down what she’s living, seeing in front of her, experiencing in the moment. Also, emotionality is a wide Sargasso. The best and most dramatic writers have a deep sense of irony, veering more toward bathos than pathos.   

Are you excited about any new books being released soon?
Of course the new Harper Lee book, “Go Set a Watchman.” Also Terry Gilliam’s memoir and the book “M Train” by Patti Smith.

This or That:
Christmas or Halloween?  Christmas
Cup or cone? Cup
Hot or cold? Hot
Rachel and Ross or Chandler and Monica? Rachel and Ross
Apples or oranges? Watermelon
Sunset or sunrise? Sunset
Coke or Pepsi? Coke
Sweet or salty? Salty

Once again, thank you for sitting down with us & good luck with your next novel! 

About the Author:
M. Beth Bloom is a novelist and a screenwriter. Her fiction has appeared in StoryQuarterly and Dave Eggers's Best American Nonrequired Reading series. She is also the author of Drain You. M. Beth lives
in Los Angeles.

a Rafflecopter giveaway


  1. I am in love with the cover and I am so excited to read it and get my hands on it! Thank you so much for the giveaway!

    1. No problem! It was great, hope you enjoy it as well :)


I LOVE getting and reading comments. Knowing what you guys have to say really helps me figure out if you are enjoying what I'm posting or not, so thank you.