Saturday, June 4, 2011

Review (14): Spoiled

by Heather Cocks & Jessica Morgan

Series: None

Other Reviewed Titles: None
Release Date: June 1, 2011
Publisher: Hachette Book Group
Pages: 368
Source: Publisher
Challenge: 2011 DAC
Book Website: None
Author Website: None
16-year-old Molly Dix loves her ordinary life in suburban Indiana, so when her single mother passes away, she is shocked to discover that her biological father is Brick Berlin, world famous movie star and red carpet regular.
Equally intrigued and terrified by her Hollywood lineage, Molly moves to Southern California and plunges head-first into the deep end of Beverly Hills celebrity life. Just as Molly thinks her new life and family couldn't get any stranger, she meets Brooke Berlin, her gorgeous and spoiled half-sister whom welcomes Molly to la-la land with a healthy dose of passive-aggressive "sisterly love."
Why I read this: I received an ARC from the publisher.

Characters: Molly is your average American teenage girl who gets thrown into the world of Hollywood after the death of her mother. She is looking for a fresh start and that is not really what she ends up getting. It is hard for her to leave her old friends, especially her boyfriend and best friend of many years, behind and she avoids dealing with the death of her mother. She is a really sweet girl that does not always make the best decisions and makes some mistakes knowing full-well that she is making them. Brooke, the only child (until Molly) of movie star Brick Berlin, has a hard time adjusting to having a sister. She does not want to share her already M.I.A. father with a complete stranger. Brooke spends most of the book trying to get Brick to notice her because he always seems to be off working or talking on the phone. She wants everyone to see her as a strong person who doesn’t need anyone, but the truth is that she’s lonely and wants her mother back. They were both endearing and different. 

Plot: This was a cute, fun read but it also had depth to it. It really showed what celebrities and their kids face everyday because of tabloids and paparazzi chasing them everywhere they go. There were also sibling issues mixed in once the two girls were brought together. Brooke was jealous of Molly and all of the attention she was getting from her new father and the paparazzi and decided to make her life hell. This part of the story has been done before, but it was the other elements and characters that made it different. There are also a lot of misunderstandings which cause twists and turns that, while interesting, aren’t that unpredictable. The ending hinted at a sequel which I’m looking forward to reading as well. 

Cover: I actually really like this cover. It’s girly, really cute and suits the book well. Since my copy is an ARC the cover isn’t final, but I hope that on the finished version, they make the lipstick and the nail polish gel-y so that it kinda pops out. (If that makes any

Overall Impression: Fans of The Clique and The A-List will definitely enjoy this book because it has elements of the two and is sort of in between both. I would recommend this to eighth grade - tenth grade girls though. 

Rating: * * * 1/2

No comments:

Post a Comment

I LOVE getting and reading comments. Knowing what you guys have to say really helps me figure out if you are enjoying what I'm posting or not, so thank you.